Pages

Thursday, March 15, 2012

PeopleSoft Component Versions



Below post will help you
 determine the versions of Various components in PeopleSoft...
People Tools
1. Change directory to $PS_HOME/appserv
2. Run the following command to check the peopletools version
$ ./psadmin –v
Note: PS_HOME – Where the tools is installed…
Tuxedo
1. Run the following command to check the TUXEDO version
tmadmin -v
Alternate Method
1. Login into the Box.
2. Change directory to $TUXDIR/udataobj
3. Check the lic.txt for tuxedo version.
Weblogic
1. Change directory to $BEAHOME/wl*
2. Check file registry.xml for weblogic version
Note: BEAHOME – Where the weblogic is installed…
Jrockit
1. Change directory to $BEAHOME/wl*/jrockit*/jre/bin
2. Run the following command to get the Jrockit version
$ ./java –version
Note: BEAHOME – Where the weblogic is installed…
JRE
1. Change directory to $PS_HOME/jre/bin
2. Run the following command to get the JRE version
$ ./java –version
Note: PS_HOME – Where the tools is installed…


Note: This might not be applicable for few version of the components...


Heap size for the Change Assistant



Sometimes when we import BIG package the default heap size for the Change Assistant will need to be increased in order to show the template (xml file).

Please follow the steps below to increase the heap size. This must be done before you open Change Assistant to apply the package: 
1. Right click on the CA shortcut that you use to launch CA. 
2. Choose Properties... 
3. In the Target text box append -Xmx300m should look like "C:\Program Files\PeopleSoft\Change Assistant\changeassistant.exe" -Xmx300m

Peoplesoft process run status




Here's a summary of the run status translates (from PeopleTools 8.49). Note that not all of these are active.
Value Status
1 Cancel
2 Delete
3 Error
4 Hold
5 Queued
6 Initiated
7 Processing
8 Cancelled
9 Success
10 Not Successful
11 Posted
12 Unable to Post
13 resend
14 Posting
15 Content Generated
16 Pending
17 Success with Warning
18 Blocked
19 Restart

Peoplesoft Updates Details



Peoplesoft patches and bundle projects applied to the Instance can be view in the 
table ps_maintenance_log.

This information can be view in online in PIA. In the 3 components

Peopletools > Utilites > Administration > Updates - View all
Peopletools > Utilites > Administration > Updates by Release Label
Peopletools > Utilites > Administration > Updates by Update ID

Weblogic - Error while booting - WLS_ADMINSERVER000000.DAT


Error: While booting the Web-logic Server received an error..

The persistent store "_WLS_AdminServer" could not be deployed: weblogic.store.PersistentStoreException: java.io.IOException: [Store:280021]There was an error while opening the file store file "_WLS_ADMINSERVER000000.DAT"

Solution:

To start the server again:
1. find -name "*.DAT" files in "<**>/domains>/<**>" directory (in our case!) and move or remove them
2. remove "EmbeddedLDAP.lok" and "AdminServer.lok" (maybe some more)

Types Of traces in Peoplesoft

Tracing online People Code and SQL


1. Select Trace at the login screen or add “&trace=Y” to the login URL OR - To set trace flags, click here (use this link.
2. Choose the options in the tracing screen and login.
3. Perform the actions you wish to record.
4. Once complete logout and retrieve the file from the /appserv//LOGS directory. 
The trace file name will include your login name.


Tracing online PeopleCode and SQL (Alternative)

1. Login to PeopleSoft and navigate to PeopleTools > Debug.
2. Choose the options and save.
3. Perform the actions you wish to record.
4. Once complete logout and retrieve the file from the
/appserv//LOGS directory. The trace
file name will include your login name.


Application Engine Tracing
1. Open the process definition
2. Select the overrides tab.
3. Select Append on the parameters field.
4. Enter -TRACE 131 -TOOLSTRACEPC 3596 -TOOLSTRACESQL
143
5. Save the record.


SQR Tracing
1. Open the process definition
2. Select the overrides tab.
3. Select Append on the parameters field.
4. Enter –DEBUG[ABC]… (replace ABC with the debug letters
provided in the sqr, sqc source).
5. Save the record.


Cobol Tracing
1. Open the Cobol SQL process type for the platform you are running on.
2. Enter 255 in the command line field between two forward slashes “//”.
3. Save the record.
%%PRCSNAME%% %%DBTYPE%%/%%DBNAME%%/%%OPRID%%/%%OPRPSWD%%/%%RUNCNTLID%%/%%INSTANCE%%/255/%%DBFLAG%%
4. Run the process and retrieve the COBOL sqltrace from the process monitor.


Tracing Settings
1. Both the process scheduler (psprcs.cfg) and application server (psappsrv.cfg) config files allow for permanent tracing settings as well as setting up trace Masks. psprcs.cfg - /appserv/prcs// psappsrv.cfg - /appserv//

2. Trace Masks are setup to limit the amount of tracing allowed when a user wants to trace through the front end package (see all methods
above).

3. LogFence allows for lower and higher detail tracing with regards to application server standard logging. This is ideal for identifying problems on the application server.

4. To enable the trace link in the Sign on page.
    People-tools > Web-profile.
  
   Web profile > Debugging Tab -> Check the Option - Show Trace Link at Signon

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Step-by-Step: App Engine for Testing PeopleCode



This is a how-to post that I intend to refer back to from time to time.  The goal is to create a simple Application Engine program into which we can drop some PeopleCode and see how it works.  Assuming we don’t need any of the online pieces, this is much easier than going through all of the steps to create a page and register it so we can see it online.

Step 1: Create a new Application Engine Program

In Application Designer, click Ctrl + N or use the File > New menu option.  This will open the “New” dialog, and you can choose Application Engine program from the list.
Selection_548
You new program should look like this:
Selection_549

Step 2: Disable Restart

This step is very important.  If you don’t disable the restart and your program crashes, you will have to go through a few extra steps before you can rerun it.
First, click on the properties button while your program is in focus (you can also use the File > Definition Properties menu):
Selection_550
This should bring up the Properties dialog.  Then, go to the Advanced tab.  Check the “Disable Restart” option.
Selection_551

Step 3: Add an Action

First, click on the “Step 1″ step to select it.  I usually click anywhere in the gray, and this should turn it black.
Selection_552
Next, click on the Add Action button, or you can use the Insert > Action menu.
Selection_553
Finally, change the type from SQL to PeopleCode.
Selection_554

Step 4: Save the program

At this point, you need to save before you can add PeopleCode.  You can use Ctrl + S, click on the Save icon on the toolbar, or you can use the File > Save menu.
Selection_555

Step 5: Enter the PeopleCode

First, open the PeopleCode program by double clicking anywhere on the gray of the PeopleCode action.  Or, you can right click on it and choose the “View PeopleCode” option.
Next, you will probably want to open a file to show output from your PeopleCode testing.  You can use this PeopleCode:
Local File &log;
&log = GetFile("c:\temp\log.txt", "W", "A", %Filepath_Absolute);
Then, you can print to that file with the writeline() method.  For now, we will just print Hello, World.
&log.WriteLine("Hello, World!");
Finally, you will probably want to close your file:
&log.Close();
Here is what it all looks like:
Selection_556
Make sure to save once you make these changes.

Step 6: Run the Program

Again, after you have saved, go back to the main program window where you can see the Main section, Step 1, and your new PeopleCode action.  Then, click the run icon.
Selection_557
In the dialog, Check the Output log to file and uncheck Run Minimized.  The output log to file allows you to see what happened.  Otherwise, the window will close before you see what happened.  The run minimized isn’t a big deal, but if the program doesn’t run minimized you see it pop up and go away better.  When the program goes away, you know it is done running.
Selection_559
Finally, when it is done, check the output.  If you used the paths that I did your output should be in the c:\temp directory.  You should have two files.  The first, is the main output from the program.  Check this to make sure the program ran to success:
Selection_560
The second is the log that your PeopleCode created.  For now, it should just say, “Hello, World”.
Selection_561